Don’t be afraid.The world today doesn’t allow that !

Recognize and embrace your uniqueness.Shine a light on inequities, things are not going to change. — Ellen Pao , former CEO Reddit.

I always start my blog with a quote. It’s a norm for me. Because reading that quote has inspired me to write (or open my mouth :P). So yeah.

I wouldn’t exactly call myself a feminist , rather someone who would like to share a small story (Well, don’t fall asleep or at least try not to) . The issue of women and girls being a minority in technology and their fear of taking the next step is really something I would like to add a little voice to.

Today , I see girls around being afraid and frightened looking at complex code. Forget about looking to build something, they are just way too lost and doubtful, questioning themselves whether they are really fit to join the league of developers. That exact same person was me , well, a couple months ago. I started my engineering in computer science two years ago. I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I took it up . A year passed beating around the bush. Another passed trying to do something , but everything half fulfilled. Well it wasn’t that bad as the first one . I remember going to a hackathon trying to build something related to health care. Well , my idea was not so bad. There I met a guy , a developer. I made the mistake of telling him, “Dude, I am kind of lost right now , from everywhere ” . He said , “Maybe you should try being a housewife. Anyway, you just told me you cook well ! .” and laughed. So girls, we meet perverts like him all the time. Don’t we ?

We must learn to ask for things. I am the last person you would want to hear this line from  ( and I rarely kid, so yeah) . Someone who doesn’t believe in opening the mouth , unless one has something to say  (Don’t do it , the human race will lose the power of speech if you become like me 😛 ). Give computer science a shot. You might not like it that much or end up doing something else, and it’s totally alright. But you have to know. So dedicate some time and give it a serious shot.

With this post, I didn’t really mean to inspire anybody  or say great things. But just a simple message to the girls from the truth I realised lately is that, women can no longer afford to question, ” If I can”. Rather it’s “How I can”. Don’t be afraid , the world today doesn’t allow that. After all , everybody needs a damn job that pays the rent. Also, we need make-up 😛 (last I checked it’s getting more and more expensive, but we can’t really do without it, can we? :P). You will anyway figure out where to start gradually, because computer science is too vast to be left only to men 😛 (yeah yeah, you got me. I read the last line somewhere 😛 ) .

 

 

Leave a Reply

